USC’s Williams tops AP preseason All-Americans

Aug 21, 2023, 12:28 PM ET

Heisman Prize winner Caleb Williams of USC, Ohio State receiver Marvin Harrison Jr. and Michigan running back Blake Corum are among the returning first-team players who were chosen to the Associated Press preseason All-America team announced Monday.Notre Dame offensive tackle Joe Alt and Miami security Kamren Kinchens also followed up their excellent 2022 seasons by being called preseason All-Americans by voters in the AP Top 25.Two-time defending national champ and No. 1 Georgia had the most players on the first string with 4, tight end Brock Bowers, center Sedrick Van Pran, safety Malaki Starks and linebacker Jamon Dumas-Johnson. Editor’s Picks 2 Associated No. 3 Ohio State was 2nd with three. Harrison was joined by fellow receiver Emeka Egbuka and linebacker

Tommy Eichenberg.Williams was named

the AP Gamer of the Year prior to he won the Heisman in 2015, his very first at USC after moving from Oklahoma.Corum was a Heisman competitor in 2015 up until a late-season injury and returns to lead the second-ranked Wolverines, who are trying to reach the College Football Playoff for a third

straight season. Michigan secure Zak Zinter was also selected to the first team.The Wolverines– together with Big Ten rivals Penn State and Iowa, plus LSU and Washington– had two first-team selections.The Big 10 led all conferences with 12 players on the first team, and the Southeastern Conference was next with seven.The Pac-12 had five first-team choices, led by Williams and consisting of Colorado two-way hazard Travis Hunter, who is anticipated to play both receiver and cornerback for coach Deion Sanders.FIRST TEAM OFFENSE Quarterback– Caleb Williams, third year, Southern California.Running backs– Blake Corum, 4th year, Michigan; Quinshon Judkins, 2nd year, Mississippi.Tackles– Joe Alt, third year, Notre Dame; Olu Fashanu, 4th year, Penn State.Guards– Cooper Beebe, fifth year, Kansas State; Zak Zinter, 4th year, Michigan.Center– Sedrick Van Pran, fourth year, Georgia.Tight end– Brock Bowers, 3rd year, Georgia.Wide receivers– Marvin Harrison Jr., 3rd year, Ohio State; Rome Odunze, fourth year

, Washington; Emeka Egbuka, third year, Ohio State.All-purpose player– Travis Hunter, 2nd year, Colorado.Kicker– Joshua Karty, 4th year, Stanford.DEFENSE Edge rushers– Jared Verse, 4th year, Florida State; Bralen Trice, 5th year, Washington.Interior linemen– Jer’ Zhan Newton, fifth year, Illinois;

Dontay Corleone, third year, Cincinnati.Linebackers– Harold

Perkins, 2nd year, LSU; Jamon Dumas-Johnson, 3rd year, Georgia; Tommy Eichenberg, 4th year, Ohio State.Cornerbacks– Kool-Aid McKinstry, third year, Alabama; Kalen King, third

year, Penn State.Safeties– Kam Kinchens, 3rd year, Miami; Malaki Starks, 2nd year, Georgia.Defensive back– Cooper DeJean, third year, Iowa.Punter– Tory

Taylor, fourth year, Iowa.SECOND GROUP OFFENSE Quarterback– Drake Maye, third year, North Carolina.Running backs– Raheim Sanders, 3rd year, Arkansas; Braelon Allen, third year, Wisconsin.Tackles– JC Latham, third year, Alabama; Kelvin Banks Jr., second year, Texas.Guards– Donovan Jackson, 3rd year, Ohio State; Christian Mahogany, fifth year, Boston College.Center– Zach Frazier, fourth year, West Virginia.Tight end– Oronde Gadsden, third year, Syracuse.Wide receivers– Xavier Worthy, 3rd year, Texas; Malik Nabers, 3rd year, LSU; Jacob Cowing, fifth year, Arizona.All-purpose player– Will Shipley, 3rd

year, Clemson.Kicker– John Hoyland, third

year, Wyoming.DEFENSE Edge rushers– J.T. Tuimoloau, third year, Ohio State; Dallas Turner, third year, Alabama.Interior linemen– Tyler Davis, fifth year, Clemson; Mekhi Wingo, 3rd year, LSU.Linebackers– Jeremiah

Trotter Jr., third year, Clemson; Barrett Carter, third year, Clemson; Cedric Gray, fourth year, North Carolina.Cornerbacks– Josh Newton, 6th year, TCU; Ben Morrison, 2nd year,

Notre Dame.Safeties– Calen Bullock, 3rd year, Southern California

; Javon Bullard, third year, Georgia.Defensive back– Will Johnson, 2nd year, Michigan.Punter– Kai Kroeger, 4th year, South Carolina.

Previous Article
Next Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.