Iowa win vaults McCaffery atop program wins list

Jan 15, 2024, 08:42 PM ET MINNEAPOLIS– Ben Krikke scored 25 points, Josh Dix, who got the start in place of an injured Patrick McCaffery, included 21 points and Iowa beat Minnesota 86-77 on Monday night to make Fran McCaffery the winningest coach in program history.Fran McCaffery, who remains in his 28th season as a head coach and 14th at Iowa, won his 272nd game as a Hawkeye, passing Dr. Tom Davis (1986-99)for the most success in program history. On Jan. 6, McCaffery won his 127th profession Huge Ten game to move past Davis for the most league victories.Editor’s Picks 1 Associated Dix scored 8 straight Iowa points, topped by a pull-up jumper with 7:07 left for a 67-56 lead

. Minnesota got as close as 5 points from there, however Owen Freeman’s dunk and subsequent complimentary throw pushed Iowa’s benefit to 78-67 with 1:27 remaining.Tony Perkins included 13 points and Freeman had 12 points and eight rebounds for Iowa(11-6, 3-3 Huge Ten ). McCaffery did not play due to the fact that of

an ankle injury.Dawson Garcia scored 30 points for Minnesota(12-5, 3-3). Joshua Ola-Joseph added 15 points and Web cam Christie scored 12. Iowa won its third straight game in Minneapolis for the very first time because 1954-56. Former Iowa star Luka Garza, the nationwide player of the year in 2021, sat behind the Hawkeye bench.

Garza, now a member of the Minnesota Timberwolves, is the school’s guys’s leader

in scoring at 2,306 points. Caitlin Clark became Iowa’s all-time career scoring leader on Sunday with 2,813 points.Iowa returns home to play No. 2 Purdue on Saturday. Minnesota goes on the roadway to play Michigan State on Thursday.

Previous Article
Next Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.