Iowa DC Parker wins Broyles Award as leading asst

LITTLE ROCK, Ark.– Iowa defensive coordinator Phil Parker has actually been called winner of the Broyles Award, which is presented annually to the leading assistant coach in college football.The Frank & Barbara

Broyles Structure provided the award throughout an event Tuesday. Parker had been a semifinalist for the award in 2015.

“Phil Parker is an unbelievable football coach, and I am incredibly pleased that he has actually been acknowledged for his profession success by the Broyles Committee,” Iowa head coach Kirk Ferentz stated. “We simply would not have achieved the success we have as a program without Phil’s devotion and management. Because 1999, we have gained from Phil’s expertise and tenacity.”

Editor’s Picks

2 Related

Parker, 60, is in his 25th season on Iowa’s training personnel and 12th as protective planner. The Hawkeyes (10-3) have actually permitted 15 goals in 13 games, and their 13.2-point defensive average is the group’s lowest considering that 2008 and ranks 4th nationally.Iowa ranks fifth in overall defense and has actually enabled 400 or fewer lawns in 27 straight games, the longest active streak in the FBS. Iowa ranks in the top 20 nationally in practically every significant protective category.The Hawkeyes’leading defensive players are cornerback Cooper DeJean, who was a finalist for the Nagurski Award and Thorpe Award, and linebacker Jay Higgins, who was a semifinalist for the Butkus Award.Parker is the third Iowa assistant to win the Broyles Award. The others were Norm Parker (no relation) in 2013 and Ron Aiken in 2002. The 20th-ranked Hawkeyes play No. 25 Tennessee in the Citrus Bowl in Orlando on

Jan. 1.

Previous Article
Next Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.