Fitzgerald, Moss voted into College Football HOF

Randy Moss and Larry Fitzgerald were amongst 19 players and 3 coaches in the College Football Hall of Fame class revealed Monday.Warrick Dunn of Florida State, Toby Gerhart of Stanford, Julius Peppers of North Carolina and Danny Woodhead of Chadron State also were chosen to the Atlanta-based hall by the National Football Foundation.Coaches elected were Frank Solich of Nebraska and Ohio

, Mark Dantonio of Cincinnati and Michigan State and Danny Hale of Division II West Chester and Bloomsburg.Moss, inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2018, was one of

college football’s most electric performers in his two seasons at Marshall. He was an All-American as both a receiver and return male. He caught 174 passes for 3,529 yards and 54 goals in his career and was the 1997 Biletnikoff Award winner. His 26 goal receptions that season were a Bowl Subdivision record. He bet five teams over 14 NFL seasons and was the league’s leading receiver 5 times.Fitzgerald was the 2003 Heisman Trophy runner-up and Biletnikoff Award winner while playing for Pittsburgh, where he totaled 161 catches for 2,677 backyards and a school-record 34 goals over his two seasons. He caught a goal in 18 successive games to set an NCAA record. He was the 3rd total choice in the 2004 NFL draft and 11-time Pro Bowl selection in 17 years with the Arizona Cardinals.Editor’s Picks 2 Associated Dunn, who led Florida State to the 1993 national title, became the first Seminoles player to rush for 1,000 yards in three straight seasons.

He finished his profession

in 1995 as the school’s all-time leader in career goals, versatile backyards and rushing yards.The hard-running Gerhart won the 2009 Doak Walker Award at Stanford and was the Heisman Trophy runner-up. Gerhart ran for 1,871 lawns and 28 touchdowns to lead the nation in his senior year.Peppers, who played at UNC, won the 2001 Bednarik and Lombardi awards. In 2000, he led the country with 15 sacks and a school-record 24 takes on for loss. He was the 2nd general choice in the 2002 NFL draft and was a first-team All-Pro and nine-time Pro

Bowl pick over 17 seasons with 3 teams.Woodhead dipped into Department II Chadron State in Nebraska from 2004 to ’07 and finished his career as college football’s all-time rushing leader for all departments with 7,962 lawns. He two times won the Harlon Hill Trophy as the top D-II player. Woodhead signed with the New York Jets as an undrafted free agent in 2008 and spent ten years in the NFL with 4 teams.The remainder of the 2024 class includes Justin Blackmon of Oklahoma State, Paul Cameron of UCLA, Tim Sofa of Kentucky, Armanti Edwards of Appalachian State, Deon Figures of Colorado, Dan Hampton of Arkansas, Steve Hutchinson of Michigan, Antonio Langham of Alabama, Paul Posluszny of Penn State, Dewey Selmon of Oklahoma, Alex Smith of Utah, Kevin Smith of Texas A&M and Chris Ward of Ohio State.The class will be inducted throughout the NFF’s awards supper in Las Vegas in December.

Previous Article
Next Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.