Edey, Jackson-Davis finalists for males’s Wooden

Purdue Boilermakers center Zach Edey and Indiana Hoosiers center Trayce Jackson-Davis were amongst the five finalists for the Wood Award and the 10 All-Americans who were revealed Thursday night.The Wooden

Award, offered annually to the very best males’s and females’s college basketball player in the nation, will be announced April 7.

Edey, a 7-foot-4 center, has been the viewed frontrunner for the majority of the season, averaging 22.3 points (ranking sixth in Div. I), 12.9 rebounds (second) and 2.1 blocks, while shooting 60.7% from the field. He helped lead Purdue to the Huge 10 regular-season title in addition to the conference competition championship, with the Boilermakers making a 1-seed in the NCAA tournament prior to losing to 16-seed Fairleigh Dickinson in the first round.Jackson-Davis closed

the space toward completion of the regular season, helping lead Indiana to a regular-season sweep of Purdue. He averaged 20.9 points, 10.8 rebounds, 4.0 assists and 2.9 blocks, however he played his finest basketball throughout Big Ten play. The 6-foot-9 senior finished second in the conference in scoring, 2nd in rebounding, seventh in helps, first in blocks and 3rd in field goal percentage.Editor’s Picks 2 Associated Rounding

out the 5 finalists for the award are Houston guard Marcus Sasser, Gonzaga center Drew Timme and Kansas forward Jalen Wilson.Timme is amongst the 5 finalists for the second season in a row.The Wooden Award likewise released a 10-player All-American group, featuring the five abovementioned finalists along with UCLA’s Jaime Jaquez Jr., Alabama’s Brandon Miller, Penn State’s Jalen Pickett, Arizona’s Azuolas Tubelis and Kentucky’s Oscar Tshiebwe, the reigning Wood Award winner.Tshiebwe will not duplicate, however he still handled to lead the nation with 13.7 rebounds per game while also scoring 16.5 points and

shooting 56%from the field.Timme and Tshiebwe were the only players called to back-to-back All-American teams.The guys’s Wood Award has actually been given out every year considering that 1977. UCLA’s Marques Johnson was

the very first recipient of the award.

Previous Article
Next Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.