College football champion winners by year: NCAA list

Dec 28, 2023, 09:35 AM ET

On Jan. 8, the Michigan Wolverines won their 10th college football national championship at NRG Arena in Houston.This season, Michigan, Washington, Texas and Alabama were selected for possibly the most questionable College Football Playoff of all-time, as Florida State ended up being the first unbeaten Power 5 conference champion to be neglected by the committee.With this year’s

grand finale finished up, let’s have a look at NCAA football champions throughout history.It’s worth noting that before the CFP and BCS

, a champ was identified by a selecting organization. Sometimes, several groups were deemed the national champs if there wasn’t a well-defined No. 1. This list includes just the championships acknowledged by the NCAA.2023: Michigan (CFP)2022: Georgia (CFP)

2021: Georgia (CFP)

2020: Alabama (CFP)

2019: LSU (CFP)

2018: Clemson (CFP)

2017: Alabama(CFP)2016: Clemson (CFP)

2015: Alabama (CFP)

2014: Ohio State(CFP

)2013: Florida State

(BCS) 2012: Alabama(BCS)2011: Alabama (BCS)

2010: Auburn (BCS)

2009: Alabama (BCS)

2008: Florida (BCS)

2007: LSU (BCS)

2006: Florida (BCS)

2005: Texas(BCS

)2004: Southern California * (BCS)

2003: LSU, Southern California(BCS

, AP, FWAA) 2002: Ohio State(BCS)

2001: Miami (Fla.

)( BCS)

2000: Oklahoma (BCS)

1999: Florida State (BCS)

1998: Tennessee (BCS)

1997: Michigan, Nebraska (AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/ESPN)

1996: Florida (AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN)

1995: Nebraska (AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI)

1994: Nebraska (AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI)

1993: Florida State (AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI)

1992: Alabama (AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI)

1991: Washington, Miami (Fla.) (FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI, AP)

1990: Colorado, Georgia Tech (FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, AP, UPI)

1989: Miami (Fla.) (AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI)

1988: Notre Dame (AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI)

1987: Miami (Fla.) (AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI)

1986: Penn State (AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI)

1985: Oklahoma (AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI)

1984: Brigham Young (AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI)

1983: Miami (Fla.) (AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI)

1982: Penn State (AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI)

1981: Clemson (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI)

1980: Georgia (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI)

1979: Alabama (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI)

1978: Alabama, Southern California (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI)

1977: Notre Dame (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI)

1976: Pittsburgh (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI)

1975: Oklahoma (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI)

1974: Southern California, Oklahoma (FWAA, NFF, UPI, AP)

1973: Notre Dame, Alabama (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI)

1972: Southern California (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI)

1971: Nebraska (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI)

1970: Nebraska, Texas, Ohio State (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI, NFF)

1969: Texas (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI)

1968: Ohio State (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI)

1967: Southern California (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI)

1966: Notre Dame, Michigan State (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI, NFF)

1965: Michigan State, Alabama (FWAA, NFF, UPI, AP)

1964: Alabama, Arkansas, Notre Dame (AP, UPI, FWAA, NFF)

1963: Texas (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI)

1962: Southern California (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI)

1961: Alabama, Ohio State (AP, NFF, UPI, FWAA)

1960: Minnesota, Mississippi (AP, NFF, UPI, FWAA)

1959: Syracuse (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI)

1958: LSU, Iowa (AP, UPI, FWAA)

1957: Ohio State, Auburn (FWAA, UPI, AP)

1956: Oklahoma (AP, FWAA, UPI)

1955: Oklahoma (AP, FWAA, UPI)

1954: UCLA, Ohio State (FWAA, UPI, AP)

1953: Maryland (AP, UPI)

1952: Michigan State (AP, UPI)

1951: Tennessee (AP, UPI)

1950: Oklahoma (AP, UPI)

1949: Notre Dame (AP)

1948: Michigan (AP)

1947: Notre Dame (AP)

1946: Notre Dame (AP)

1945: Army (AP)

1944: Army (AP)

1943: Notre Dame (AP)

1942: Ohio State (AP)

1941: Minnesota (AP)

1940: Minnesota (AP)

1939: Texas A&M (AP)

1938: Texas Christian (AP)

1937: Pittsburgh (AP)

1936: Minnesota (AP)

1935: Minnesota (CFRA, HAF, NCF)

1934: Minnesota (CFRA, HAF, NCF)

1933: Michigan (CFRA, HAF, NCF)

1932: Southern California (CFRA, HAF, NCF)

1931: Southern California (CFRA, HAF, NCF)

1930: Alabama, Notre Dame (CFRA, HAF, NCF)

1929: Notre Dame (CFRA, HAF, NCF)

1928: Georgia Tech (CFRA, HAF, NCF)

1927: Illinois, Yale (HAF, NCF, CFRA)

1926: Alabama, Stanford (CFRA, HAF, NCF, HAF)

1925: Alabama (CFRA, HAF, NCF)

1924: Notre Dame (CFRA, HAF, NCF)

1923: Illinois, Michigan (CFRA, HAF, NCF, NCF)

1922: California, Cornell, Princeton (NCF, HAF, CFRA, NCF)

1921: California, Cornell (CFRA, NCF, HAF)

1920: California (CFRA, HAF, NCF)

1919: Harvard, Illinois, Notre Dame, Texas A&M (CFRA, HAF, NCF, CFRA, NCF, NCF)

1918: Michigan, Pittsburgh (NCF, HAF, NCF)

1917: Georgia Tech (HAF, NCF)

1916: Pittsburgh (HAF, NCF)

1915: Cornell (HAF, NCF)

1914: Army (HAF, NCF)

1913: Harvard (HAF, NCF)

1912: Harvard, Penn State (HAF, NCF, NCF)

1911: Penn State, Princeton (NCF, HAF, NCF)

1910: Harvard, Pittsburgh (HAF, NCF, NCF)

1909: Yale (HAF, NCF)

1908: LSU, Pennsylvania (NCF, HAF, NCF)

1907: Yale (HAF, NCF)

1906: Princeton (HAF, NCF)

1905: Chicago (HAF, NCF)

1904: Michigan, Pennsylvania (NCF, HAF, NCF)

1903: Michigan, Princeton (HAF, NCF)

1902: Michigan (HAF, NCF)

1901: Michigan (HAF, NCF)

1900: Yale (HAF, NCF)

1899: Harvard (HAF, NCF)

1898: Harvard (HAF, NCF)

1897: Pennsylvania (HAF, NCF)

1896: Lafayette, Princeton (NCF, HAF, NCF)

1895: Pennsylvania (HAF, NCF)

1894: Yale (HAF, NCF)

1893: Princeton (HAF, NCF)

1892: Yale (HAF, NCF)

1891: Yale (HAF, NCF)

1890: Harvard (HAF, NCF)

1889: Princeton (HAF, NCF)

1888: Yale (HAF, NCF)

1887: Yale (HAF, NCF)

1886: Yale (HAF, NCF)

1885: Princeton (HAF, NCF)

1884: Yale (HAF, NCF)

1883: Yale (HAF, NCF)

1882: Yale (NCF)

1881: Yale (NCF)

1880: Princeton, Yale (NCF, NCF)

1879: Princeton (NCF)

1878: Princeton (NCF)

1877: Yale (NCF)

1876: Yale (NCF)

1875: Harvard (NCF)

1874: Yale (NCF)

1873: Princeton (NCF)

1872: Princeton (NCF)

1871: None (NCF)

1870: Princeton (NCF)

1869: Princeton, Rutgers (NCF)

* Abandoned by NCAA since of violations

Make sure to take a look at ESPN’s college football coverage, including the most recent rankings, thorough analysis, breaking news, hiring reports, and more!

Previous Article
Next Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.